One of the most difficult things for me to *see* and understand since finding this part of the web has been the feminine imperative*. Having been steeping in it since childhood, it took me a long time to see it for what it is and I don’t think I am the only woman to struggle with this. We assume certain privileges for being female and we can’t even see it for ourselves (and frankly, we are so very often freely given those privileges). For anyone who might be struggling with this, I present Matt Forney’s Twitter feed (H/t Free Northerner)

The very fact that these women feel completely free (and are encouraged) to threaten death, castration, assault and the rest is pretty obvious evidence of this imperative. Are the threats real? 99% are probably not. Now, imagine if this was switched around and the death threats, et cetera were made by men to a woman. If this woman claimed fear over any of them, some sort of action would be taken against these men. It would not matter if most were not real but said out of utter frustration, the men saying them would be in danger of repercussions.

This IS the imperative. Women have privileges to do and say a whole lot that men do not. The problem with this is that if women want to be treated as men, there can be no imperative. We can’t have both. Either, we are the weaker sex to be protected or we are the same as men and we get none. The very fact that women expect to have both and cannot even understand why this cannot be, is further evidence of this phenomenon.

Frankly, I tend to hope that, in the short term it doesn’t stop. The more intense it gets, the easier it is becoming for the world to see it for what it is.

*I don’t particularly like this term . . . at all, for all of the reasons that many have said before me. When the time comes, it will be used against those here fighting for this knowledge to get out. Having said that, since it is understood by most of my readers (and I don’t know what else to call it) I use it.

**Update – I have no idea how to link to yesterday’s tweets by Matt or if it’s even possible. Just make sure to scroll down to the many retweets he made on October 9 if you wish to see what I am talking about.

***Update II: It will now be easier to see examples of tweets and comments that Matt received here.

