Tags

, , ,

I’m roasting a chicken for dinner tonight and it made me think of this one. First off, learn how to roast . . . anything, if you don’t already.  They are quite easy and usually take 5-10 minutes to prepare.  The oven does the rest.

For my roast chicken, I took this recipe and modified it for us.  Looking at the recipe now I am not even sure I need to give credit as I have changed it quite a bit.  I usually buy the Perdue Oven Roasters as they have good flavor and are a good price.  Keep in mind that this is not the healthiest of meat as it is not considered natural, but it has much better flavor than a natural and/or organic bird.  Wash it off and then put it in some sort of a roasting pan.  I simply use my cast iron frying pan.  Take some good salt (Kosher is better than table salt but this and even better, this gives even more flavor.  Be careful with the grey salt as it is usually not ground and cannot be used in certain dishes as it won’t dissolve completely) and add it to the cavity of the bird.  Then take some fresh rosemary and thyme and add that as well.  Throw in anything else you like such as onions, garlic, lemons, etc. but I usually just add these two.

Next is the part that makes it so good.  Mix some butter up with some chopped garlic.  Your going to need a good amount, around 2-3 tablespoons of butter and as much garlic as you like.  Gently lift the skin of the bird around the breast and legs and shove the butter underneath the skin.  Don’t skimp. Then take some extra butter and rub in on top of the skin.  The recipe I linked to says to use an herb butter on the skin, but I found that the herbs burn during cooking and ruin the skin (It’s the best part!).  Then simply add salt, garlic powder and onion powder to the skin and stick it in the oven uncovered.  I put it in at 425 for about 15-20 minutes and then turn it down to 350.  While I am preparing the chicken I put the giblets in some water on the stove with some good chicken bouillon (Better Than Bouillon is the best I have found) and let them simmer for about 30 minutes.  Then use this to baste the chicken every 20 minutes or so while it is cooking.  This is not necessary but it does make for a juicier bird.

When it’s finished cooking, let the chicken sit for at least 15 minutes before you carve it.  While it’s sitting, separate the fat from the juice left in the pan (I just pour it in a glass measuring cup and pour most of it off.  You don’t need to get all of it).  Put it back in the  pan and add a bit of white wine.  All the best cooks will tell you to use a wine that you would drink and to not skimp on the cheap stuff.  Meh.  I don’t like white wine and in all of my cooking I have found that white cooking wine gives a better flavor than any more expensive drinking white wines.  This is just my taste.  You go with what you like.

I don’t make gravy as we do low carb, but I use the juice to dip my chicken in and it usually gives you quite a bit.  If you steam some kale the next day and add the leftover chicken to the juice along with the kale it makes an excellent and fast soup, though there is usually only enough for lunch.

Anyway, on to the Little Thing.  Make sure to give your man the oysters on the underside of the chicken.  They are often referred to the chef’s treat as they are the best meat on the bird and there are only two small bites that the chef would naturally just eat while carving the bird.  By not eating them and making a point of him getting these excellent pieces of meat, you are showing more care, consideration, and love for your husband.  It also shows, in a little way, a willingness to take very good care of him.  It is just something a little extra to put a smile on his face.

