Depending on where you live and what you use to hunt it’s hunting season, or will be in the next couple of weeks.  I love hunting season.  There is something inherently primal about my husband bringing me home a deer to cook up for him (I may even go out myself this year.  I’m not sure yet).  For those hunters and outdoorsmen reading, I wanted to share a couple of things with you.

First is this video of a man who saves a deer who got himself locked up with another deer during a fight.  Sadly, one buck had already died.

That deer was ready for bear after he had been freed.

The second is this article that my husband sent to me this morning.  It actually brought tears.  An excerpt:

I need to build a cabin for the coming winter. I am at work, but I know this thing to be true. I need to build a cabin. A primal urge. I look out the window from my low-rise office window, through the soft-Vue double thermal insulated glass panes. . . .

A meeting is called in the conference room of the main floor. Most of my department is there. The coffee is hot but bland, Styrofoam cups full of java for the weary. Minutes are faithfully kept and will be sent out later via email to be stored in a “Meetings” file. We exit the room in our starched shirts so clean. Pressed lines. We are the washed; our work is sanitary. A glimmer of sun shoots through a window and taps me on the shoulder as I walk down the hallway. I look back out at it. I know, I reply in my mind. I will be there soon.

I have to build a cabin because it takes strength to set the posts and lift the beams into place, and I grow physically weak in my office chair, staring at a screen full of numbers, figures, and words. Electronic blips of nothing, compiled into endless streams of reports and budgets and forecasts and action plans, all stored away into folders that exist only on the screen. I must take action, action that is real and physical, near some woods with good timber, near a real stream, with fish in it for me to catch and fillet and cook over a fire in a stone contraption that I will build.

Read the whole thing.  It’s beautiful.

I wish you all happy hunting and the best of luck this season.   Be where you love and enjoy every minute.

**Article was posted on November 13, 2013 from the Omaha News and is written by John Bach

