As most of you know, I began a new blog last week to help me to further my learning about the Catholic Faith.  In that learning, my husband pointed me to this Baltimore Catechism website.  In the very first lesson, there are questions about the equality of man (and if you look at question 133, Man is a creature composed of body and soul, and made to the image and likeness of God).  

Q. 128. In what respect are all men equal? 

A. All men are equal in whatever is necessary for their nature and end. They are all composed of a body and soul; they are all created to the image and likeness of God; they are all gifted with understanding and free will; and they have all been created for the same end — God.

Q. 129. Do not men differ in many things? 

A. Men differ in many things, such as learning, wealth, power, etc.; but these things belong to the world and not man’s nature. He came into this world without them and he will leave it without them. Only the consequences of good or evil done in this world will accompany men to the next.

I found these simple answers rather profound.  We often see definitions of equality around.  Equal under the law, equal in value, we are different but equal.  I found this explanation the very best of them all.  We all have a body and soul.  We are Awake and Alive and we have been created for God.

I realize that this may seem incomplete to many people, that it might not sound fair.  But looking at it’s simplicity, I find it astoundingly beautiful.  What we crave as far as equality, are things of this world.  But what we are given, is the ultimate equality from God, necessary for our nature and end.  We want so much more. We demand so much more, but in the end, all of that is moot.  Only what we have done will follow us into the next life.

 

***Intentions for this blog

When I began the new blog, my husband wanted me to make a choice between this blog and that one.  Given that I rarely post here any more, I asked him if I could only post here or there and never both at once and he agreed.  Having said that, as you all have likely noticed, I don’t post much here any more.  I feel I have said most of what I have wanted to say here.  I don’t plan on shutting this blog down as, from time to time, something might come up that I would like to write on.  But that will likely be much further and farther between posts.  If people have questions, I will do my best to answer them or if something strikes me as important, I will write about it.  However, my focus is more drawn to learning about what God expects of me, and more, what I can do for Him.  I am sure, in that learning, things will come up that will be more appropriate to talk about here.

Sadly, Elspeth is ready to move on as well.  She has been a huge help to me and she and Hearthie (among others) have been a big influence in me changing the course of my thoughts more toward God.  I am truly grateful to them.  Thank you both very much.

